Skip to content

PRIVATE · WALLET

Blockchain.com

Blockchain.com is the wallet company Peter Smith and Nicolas Cary have run since the early 2010s. This seat is institutional-trading security in London, not the consumer app.

You are deciding whether to write the controls under an institutional trading stack, in London, with no pay figure and a work-from-anywhere perk of 20 days — not a remote contract.

The company you would actually join

Blockchain Lab analysis

Public reporting and the employer’s own releases. Not a relationship with Blockchain Lab. Not a credit opinion.

Founded
2011, as the posting says.
Base
London for this seat.
Status
Private. Do not treat it as a listed company. A wallet-user count is not a valuation.
People
Peter Smith is the long-time chief executive. Nicolas Cary is the co-founder associated with the company in public. This brief does not invent a current org chart above the security team.

The posting sells trust at consumer scale and then describes a job that is institutional and specific. You would map trading systems with middle office and quant, write risk-treatment plans against CCSS, NIST, and DORA, sit with vendors, and wire order and settlement anomalies into a SIEM. Contract auditing is explicitly not required. On-chain vocabulary is. That combination is a fintech security engineer who can read a transaction, not a Solidity reviewer who wants a consumer brand on the CV.

What the posting does not sell is a number. No salary. Equity is 'meaningful', which is how private companies describe a grant they do not want compared. The location is London, with 20 days of work-from-anywhere as a perk. If a recruiter offers worldwide remote, they are offering something the text does not. The company is private. Price any equity story against whatever round they will actually show you, not against a user count.

Founders

Peter Smith

Co-founder and CEO

The public operator of the company for years. A London security engineer on institutional trading will not learn the product from him. You will learn whether institutional trading is a business the company is funding or a slide next to the wallet.

Nicolas Cary

Co-founder

The other name the company's public history rests on. Useful context, not a hiring manager. Ask who actually owns FinOps security.

What the company sells

The wallet

The posting's own scoreboard: since 2011, over 90 million wallet holders, more than 40 million verified users, over $1 trillion in transactions. Employer-stated. Not audited here.

Institutional trading

The seat's surface: inventory, middle office, quant, custody and settlement touchpoints. Security signals include abnormal orders, signature misuse, and unusual settlements.

The perk that is not the job

Work from anywhere up to 20 days a year. The employment is London.

Capital

Valuation

Not disclosed

Private. No figure in this brief.

This seat's pay

Not disclosed

Full-time salary based on experience, the posting says. No number.

Equity

Meaningful

The employer's adjective. Not a percentage.

Users

90 million wallets

Employer-stated on the posting. A distribution fact, not revenue.

  1. Not restated

    Venture history, not a live mark

    Not disclosed here

    The company has raised before. This pass does not repeat a valuation from a database. The posting offers 'meaningful equity' and does not price it. A failed attempt to become a public company is part of the industry's memory of the brand. It is not a current listing. Ask what the last priced round was, and whether common still sits under a stack from a hotter market.

What should change your mind

  • No pay band. 'Based on experience' is not a negotiation if they will not anchor.
  • Equity adjective without a cap table.
  • Institutional trading at a consumer-wallet company can be a small desk with a large job description.
  • DORA and similar regimes are real work. If you have not operated a control, do not bluff it.

Ask them

  • What is the band for London, and what did the last person in the seat make?
  • What percentage is 'meaningful', and what is the last round's price?
  • How many people are on institutional trading, and who signs the risk treatment?
  • Is the 20-day perk the only remote, and which entity employs the UK?

Sources

If a figure is not in those sources, it is not in this brief on purpose.

Open roles on this desk